Education has changed because of the technology advancement. Do you think it brings advantages or disadvantages. Why?

Nowadays, technological advancement has been ubiquitous; it influences many sectors and, one of them is education. It is not surprising to see how education has changed significantly since the search engine was found and then artificial intelligence emerged. However, without proper supervision, this advancement might bring a lot of negatives.

First, technology has changed the way of learning. One of the prominent technological contributions is the internet. It provides an unlimited source of information that can help teachers and students through the learning process. For instance, pupils do not depend only on books like old times, but also can search complementary materials from the internet. It will be easier for children to learn autonomously since they can easily search the wanted materials on Google or YouTube, and the platforms will show them results that are not only in the text format but also audio-visual. In addition, with the development of interactive AI, students can consult a few topics, which will be answered by the artificial intelligence.

However, the development also brings the detrimental effects, one of them is the increased of academic dishonesty. As mentioned above, the technology provides effortless solutions for many problems. This fact could be dangerous since it opens the floodgates for cheating behaviour that may be unbeneficial for children’s cognitive development. For instance, they might input their homework on ChatGPT and use the entire answer on their works. As a result, their academic performance may be measured inaccurately because they are not submitting genuine answers—their improvements might not be the same as it is written on their paperwork.

In addition, the convenience provided by the internet might encourage the teachers’ and students’ negligence. Students might lack concentration on the class as they thought they could keep the materials up from the internet. Conversely, teachers might not be passionate since they believe children can retrieve the information from the web. A study in 2023 shows that AI in education leads to the creation of laziness in humans. Teachers and students who use AI technology will slowly and gradually lose interest in doing tasks themselves. This is another concern of AI in the education sector.

Without proper supervision, technology may bring drawbacks instead of positive impact. Dependency on technology must be reduced to a certain level to preserve education’s quality. There should be a clear guideline for technology application in school, such as training for students and teachers on how to adopt technology in education.