Elder people should live in rural areas. Do you agree with this statement?

Recently, there has been an ongoing debate among individuals about the ideal living environment for elders. A survey indicates that 62% of elder people prefer to live in big cities due to their convenience. However, it does not seem to be a good idea to live in big cities for elder people since most of them dream about living in the countryside.

First of all, living in the countryside fosters social ties. In the countryside, all people know each other because there are plenty of people who live in rural areas. What is more most of them are elder people whose ages close to each other and they are easily get along with one another. This makes a strong community by strengthening relations among the neighbors. Therefore, the elder people do not feel lonely.

Moreover, as people get older they avoid living in cities where the population is dense. Hence, elder people are prone to live in rural cities. Those rural cities do not have loud noises which is unbearable for elder people. Countrysides offer a great environment for elder people which makes them relaxed and stressless. Their nature enables elder people to breathe fresh air which is important for their health.

On the other hand, it is argued that living in the countryside is not appropriate for elder people. They may have difficulty in reaching health care. In rural areas, there are limited hospitals with inadequate numbers of staff to take care of elders. This point has some merit on the surface. However, nowadays almost all rural cities have health centers with enough doctors. Thanks to the developments in rural areas, elder people do not have any difficulty with health issues.

In conclusion, rural cities are the places where the elder people satisfy their needs such as feeling calm and being social. To maintain a peaceful life, elder people should choose to live in the countryside rather than in big cities which can be exhausting their lives.