employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information,such as their hobbies and interest and whether they are married or single.some people say that this ingormation is relevent or usefull.others disagree

Inclusion of personal information such as hobbies, interest and relation status are necessary for some employment vaccines. However, many people disagree with this trend because of various reasons. I think it is necessary to include personal details because it impacts a company’s revenue and profitability.

The relevance of asking personal information during a job application is necessary because of the job’s nature itself. For instance, a customer service representative is required to have an outgoing personality and good communication skills. Imagine a situation where customer service attendants are rude and lazy, which can cause distress for customers , ultimately leading to poor performance of the company. Therefore, if a person is interested in hobbies like public speaking, team sports and has skills like collaboration and friendly attitude, which is crucial for public facing careers. Thus, asking for a person’s hobbies and interests can give a glimpse of their personality and suitability for employment.

Conversely, many individuals find inclusion of personal information is offensive and irrelevant to job application. For example, if an employee is married , it often means having more family responsibility and busy personal lives. In other words, having a family requires a lot more attention and responsibility which means more chances of absence at work to fulfill personal needs. Whereas, a single person is considered to be more flexible in terms of their schedule and availability at work because of less or none family responsibility. Therefore, this information might create a biased and false persona of someone’s relationship status , which seems like unfair judgment, leading to a rejection during employment opportunities.

To conclude, Personal information should be included during job screening as per many company’s policies because candidates performance is directly related to business gainfulness. Thus, I think it should not be mandatory to ask for personal interest and relationship tag to compare suitability of applicants for the job.