employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information,such as their hobbies and interest and whether they are married or single.some people say that this ingormation is relevent or usefull.others disagree

In this contemporary epoch, while filling out the form in the hiring process some individuals ask new hires to fill in their personal information such as their hobbies, marriage status and interests. While one school of thought holds that these information are necessary for work, others are of the opinion that these are suitable in workplaces. This essay will first closely examine both viewpoints before concluding that I agree with the former

The primary reason for this thinking is that when knowing others’ hobbies, coworkers might feel uncomfortable and this could possibly lead to the isolation of one from the group. For instance, if one detest smoking and encounters a colleague who frequently smokes, the smoker can be considered a drug addict, therefore creating unwanted tension between individuals. Moreover, asking for marital status could be considered offensive in some religions as well as creating doubt in some certain types of people. For example, if a woman is married and has kids, associates might have lower trust on her in works because she has to take care of husband and kids.

On the other hand, I side with those who believe that the exploration and extra details are valuable in the hiring process. When employers acknowledge workers’ favors and habits, they will be able to arrange time and job to fit their schedule; hence, they can work more efficiently and enthusiastically. In addition, recruiters when understand the strengths and weaknesses of applicants will be capable of providing them with the positions in the company that match them the most. As an example, tasks that require more energy and endurance can be given to sporty ones and important paperworks can be assigned to one with carefulness and responsibility. Consequently, employees productivity will greatly increase when provided with the suitable roles.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for advocating not to take personal details in selection process, I would contend that enquiring these details are essential to create harmonious working atmosphere.