Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many hiring managers encourages people to apply for various jobs in order to obtain personal information regarding their life and interests. Some people suggest that it can be useful while others think its irrelevant. This essay examines both views, but I support the first one because this information could help organization in numerous ways.

On the one hand, Employers ask people to apply for various positions in order to obtain data about their private life and hobbies. This could be due to the fact that they need information which might be used to perform various analysis in order to know the firms standing in the market. Furthermore, This is a direct indicator of success of any firm. If the organization has numerous and diverse applicants it would indicate that the firm is recognized globally and many people from various parts of the world wants to join that company. For instance, many Pharmaceutical giants perform this type of statistical analysis just to determine their brand recognition from various regions. Thus, this approach can be really fruitful for big industries to understand their reputation and place in the international markets.

On the other hand, many people suggest that this is not an acceptable way to collect information from the applicants due to the possibility of data breaches. This would not only put the information of the applicants at risk, but could also defame the company in case of any breach. Moreover, many sales companies are eager to obtain such demographics and could pay millions to any firm whom had such data. For example, recently a manager was terminated from a well known company because he sold such data to a marketing company. Therefore, this is not a valid way to obtain data from the people if one does not want to actually hire.

In conclusion, I must say this is a smart way to utilize information, but it requires a lot of risk and threats so utmost care should be taken if any company wants to use such type data for any analysis.