Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In the process of job application, some employer may ask for personal information such as their hobbies, marital status and interests and so on. Some of them argue that these details can be important to ask and more appropriate while others are against to these information. In this essay, I will examine both perspectives. As far as my opinion concerns, employers should not ask such confidential information to determine the suitability of an applicant for a job position.

On one hand, individuals who supports the inclusion of personal information in job application suggest that it allows employers to understand a candidate’s character and suitability for position. For instance, hobbies such as playing sports in free time could demonstrate an applicant’s ability to work in a team, while other hobbies like learning new language could illustrate their adaptability and willingness to learn new things. Additionally, providing information about material status might be required to understand candidate’s flexibility and family responsibilities and whether they can relocate or able to work for longer hours if necessary in future.

On the other hand, those who argue against including personal information in job applications believe that it has their own rights not to revel sensitive information which lead to discrimination and bias. Some employers may use this information to make their mind in such a way that it could result in unfair decision for an example by knowing their ethnicity. Additionally, providing personal information may not be relevant to the job requirements and could be considered an invasion of privacy.

In my opinion, employers should not ask for personal information in job applications as it could lead to unfair treatment and bias. I believe that it is more appropriate to evaluate candidates based on their skills, qualifications, and work experience, rather than their personal information.

In conclusion, employers should focus more on candidate’s qualification and work experience rather than their personal information which would make job application process more smoothly and transparent.