ESSAY WRITING TASK EXAMPLE: How far do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The influence of Western culture today is having a damaging effect on other local cultures and traditions all over the world. Please use relevant facts, ideas and examples. You may use the topic ideas below to support your argument if you choose. Topic ideas: • Environment • Behaviour • Traditional values • Language You should write at least 300 words. You have 85 minutes for this task.

In recent years, Western Culture has been influenced by new generation therefore, tradition of society is mixed with more modern culture, in this way cultural identify has lost. It is sometimes claimed that cultural exhange is positive and globalization is unavoidable. However this essay will defend the view that, it should not influenced because traditional values are dissappering and local languages are being lost.

Supporting this view, one of the most crucial thing is own traditions for every communities and it is dissappeared the values because of the globalization of Western culture. It is shown that European culture is better and more independent than different traditions however, it causes the loss of identity. In addition, Western lifestyle has a detrimental effects on domestic citizens and the lives are compeletly different, so every citizens should live according the own culture without pretending. A notable example is; social media users may be affected by Western users and think that the cultures can be mixed, with this view the traditions has started to be damaged.

Another significant point is lost of local languages. In recent years, education system has given by foreign language for individual and career development in some Eastern countries. The education language has started to be English in almost every country and student has to speak and debate with classmates in English during the lecture. It should not be necessary because students are affected by Westernization and actually schools should save the tradition values instead of giving lecture in foreign language. For instance, there are universities left in Turkey that offer education in Turkish therefore most of the students tend to be wannabe and lost their mother language.

On the other hand, some people argue that cultural exchange is require for modernalization and it is not avoidable because that gives people to wisdom. However, this argument is weakent by consideration that cultural exhange can avoidable by upholding values and preventing the globalization. In that way traditions can be kept alive.

In conclusion this essay has argued that new generation is affected by Westernization and its drawbacks. This essay based on consideration of loss of cultural identity and traditional values. Overall, it should not be wannabe of the Western culture and protect the main culture. Hopefully, in the future citizens can notice that mother culture is more essential than others.