Even though some cities have extensive public transportation system, many people still drive cars. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to use more public transportation. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Despite provision of widespread mass transit system in some metropolis, a significant number of individuals are still using private cars. I believe this is because of their tight schedule and love for privacy which can be remedied by encouraging the drivers to keep to time and by making the stations less rowdy.

First of all, the primary reason for low patronage of public transportation system is rowdiness and noise pollution. If the managers can reorganize the bus stops in such a way that people can feel relaxed with out having theirs health threatened by overwhelming noise or rowdiness, mass transit will witness more patronage. For instance, in developing countries such as Nigeria, poorly educated individuals who have no knowledge of the health implications of noise pollution or excessive rowdy environments are caretakers of the stations. Since there is no penalty for noise making, commuters talk and shout without being embarrassed. Hence, the preferenc for private vehicles. Secondly, the difference in time schedules is another major causes. Many people have engagements or meetings which they must attend, and trains have scheduled time to arrive at each stop to pick Passengers, therefore, in order to meet up with their appointments, they have to drive. Moreso, civil servants who can afford private vehicles use them. this is to avoid lateness to work which has severe penalty.

To remedy this challenge, changes in time schedules should be made to fit into busy hours such as morning hours when a higher number of residents go to work. If more of they buses and trains are made available to convey commuters at the right time, more people will start using public transportations. Furthermore, these trains should be in good working conditions in order prevent break down which might constitute delay of passengers. Secondly, noise maker at the stations should be legally penalized to deter others.

In conclusion, rather than use government provided transport arrangements in the cities, some residents still use own cars due to excessive noise couples with poor time management by the drivers of government owned mass transit. To correct this error, strictness should be applied on noise and time.