Even though some cities have extensive public transportation system, many people still drive cars. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to use more public transportation. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Despite provision of widespread mass transit buses in major urban areas,a considerable number of individuals yet drive their private vehicles. I believe this because they want to meet up with time and preference for personal comfort and privacy.

Firstly, drivers of public buses hardly keep to time. To avoid going to work late, many civil servants and business entrepreneurs go on personal vehicles. For instance, some years ago, the federal government of Nigeria made effort to proffer solution to over congestion of the high- ways in major cities in the country, by supplying enough buses at a subsidized fare to convey people to work. However, the drivers were always late at the stations and civil servants who go to work late were being penalized for lateness to worrk. Therefore,they reverted to private cars.Hence the system failed as a result low patronage.

Secondly, car owners have preference for personal vehicles due to the comfort and privacy obtainable. This is because public transportations are usually associated with overcrowding and noise which might negatively affect the health of some commuters who have been diagnosed of ailments such as hypertension. For example, if the managers can control noise and make the motors less crowded with passengers, they will witness more patronage. A typical example is the Lagos state government mobility agency, which most populace refused to use despite subsidized fare. Since comfortability is poor,. civil servants have gone back to individual mobilities, resultsing in traffic congestions on Lagos high – ways.

In conclusion, although there are more than enough public transports in many metropolitan, most members of the public still drive themselves because they want to save time as well as enjoy privacy and comfort.