Every country has laws to protect consumers. How should consumers be made aware of their rights? Why is it important?

It is true that every nation has established various consumer protection laws. This essay will discuss of the importance of such laws and possible ways to make people aware of their rights.

One of the possible ways to acknowledge people of their consumer rights is by means of news media. Many individuals are habitual to watch news on television or reading a newspaper. Therefore, adding a small section of individual rights in newspaper or telecasting it on live news channels can help consumers to know their rights. To illustrate, my father is having a habit to read a newspaper every morning. So, adding a separate section for consumer rights in it, might be helpful to increase his awareness.

Many people get scammed daily by either sellers or manufacturers, most of them being unaware of their basic rights, experiences blackslash. Therefore, to receive the best possible justice by reaching out the correct officials following the legal procedures, it is crucial to inform people of their basic rights. As an example, one of my aunts recently got tricked by a shopkeeper selling expired goods. The seller refused to exchange the product or return the money. Being aware of her consumer rights, she immediately raised a complaint to the consumer authority, which imposed heavy fines against the seller and made him to face legal consequences.

In conclusion, news media can be an effective way to raise awareness among people of their consumer rights. It is helpful not only to strengthen the consumer and manufacturer relation but also makes the whole process smooth and trustworthy.