Every culture, throughout time, has recorded its history in one way or another. In what ways can history be passed on to the next generation? Why is history important to society?

Since the Stone Age populations around the world have been passing on knowledge of the past to younger generations. Consequently, with people becoming more exposed to an ever-increasing variety of sources of information in the past several decades, concerns evolved around the problem of history’s preservation have risen rapidly. Publicly exposed trend amongst nations to rewrite history to their liking could account to this sentiment surrounding the issue. Despite populacies’ outrage in response to the disregard of historically accurate events, officials continue to follow this sordid path as seizing control over the information of the past becomes a more prominent factor in shifting public’s bias towards the point of view that favors specific interested parties.

Historical heritage is continuing to be the topic of fierce debates as much so as to be equally controversial several centuries ago. Information has been conveyed in both verbal and non-verbal ways through written stories, songs or even ancient cavemen’s drawings. Evidently, humans have been introduced to various methods of communication on long distances as well as successfully adopted the rapid pace at which they would interact with each other. With that being said, preservation of the past has become easier to maintain and harder to exploit as with the expansion of the internet it has become more challenging to secretly undermine any historical facts. This paradigm shift has completely revolutionized the way we assess information, as physical records of the past have proved to be quite unreliable due to them having been potentially rewritten or completely remade while keeping the general public in the dark. Hence, the problem of the proper conservation of the historical heritage has been receiving increased attention due to the rise of its improved value, which, in its turn, could account for the introduction of more trustworthy ways of ensuring its credibility.

Nowadays, the history allows nations bridge stable and long-term relationships with each other and, conversely, continues to fuel racial and religious confrontations in war-thorn nations. Despite the controversial nature of history, it is still believed to serve many prominent purposes, that, would have not existed otherwise, could have resulted into anything but something beneficial. Firstly, it allows reminiscence of experience and outcomes through which past generations have lived. In particular any oversights of the past, miscalculations in scientific experiments for instance, now could be taken into account, therefore granting opportunities for other approaches deemed more successful. Secondly, public’s perception of the history defines the future and relationships on the international scale. In other words, appropriation of other nationalities is also based on their historical features, as it is less complicated for people to base their interpretation of other cultures by knowing what purpose these countries have served throughout the course of history. That is why, despite concerns for the preservation of history, people in power are making their best efforts in overestimating or undermining various parts of the human history in order to compete for the public’s perception of the world.

In conclusion, it is important to highlight the importance of the conservation of factually accurate information. Humanity is living in the world wherein the future is entirely defined by our actions and, having decided to reshape the history, we would be straying off the course of the proper development as species, as we will not be accepting mistakes of the past and learning from them.