Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world

Some individuals believe that languages becoming extinct each year is not a subject of concern as it is easier to live with lesser languages. However, i totally disagree with this argument.

To begin with, with the extinction of a language, the culture as well as the history of that area also dies out. In other words, if the source of communication dies, it becomes extremely difficult to understand the culture and the history of the area where it was once spoken. For example, in 2007, an ancient scripture was found in one of the shrines in Egypt but scientists could not be able to understand the script as it was written in an old extinct language. Hence, this prevented the scientists to know more about Egyptian history.

Moreover, with languages vanishing one-by-one, people will unable to speak multiple languages, that can significantly affect the overall personality of public. To elaborate, reports suggest that being bilingual improves the critical thinking, decision making, and overall intelligence of a person. For instance, according to a survey from the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation), 80% of the individuals who had higher IQ (Intelegence Quotient) where bilingual. Thus, it is obvious that having multiple languages is important for the development of people.

In conclusion, it is extremely important to save languages from dying out as i believe that it would help use to gain knowledge on our history and culture as well as speaking multiple languages can positively impact the brain of an individual.