Excessive use of private cars is considered to be the main reason for the traffic jam in many cities and that's why the use of public transportation is encouraged. In your opinion what are the pros and cons of using public transport?

The widespread usage of private vehicles causes traffic congestion in many cities, and that is why commuting by public transportation is advised. This essay will attempt to shed light on the two aspects of using public transport.

Going by public transportation brings some benefits for the environment and traffic. Because private vehicles release a high amount of carbon dioxide, the volume of personal transport in the city will increase emissions, exacerbating pollution. Therefore, public transport is the method that helps decrease the volume of carbon dioxide in the city. In addition, using public transport instead of private vehicles will reduce traffic congestion because people frequently get stuck in traffic during rush hours. If citizens commute by public transport, it will save them time when going to their destination.

Nevertheless, commuting by public transportation also has disadvantages because it limits the flexible time of movement. People have to wait on time to get on the buses or trams otherwise they will miss their bus route and perhaps it is not appropriate to their schedule. Besides, public transport does not have diverse routes for travelers and they have to walk from bus or tram stations to the position where they want to go. Moreover, people cannot travel to their destinations because of the lack of bus routes which makes them feel inconvenient.

In conclusion, using public transportation helps reduce pollution and traffic jams. However, this mode of transportation is not flexible time and has diverse routes for residents.