Fast fashion has become increasingly popular, leading to a large amount of textile waste. What problems are associated with fast fashion industry, and what solutions can consumers and manufacturers adopt to address these problems?

In this day and age, there is a growing trend of fast fashion and consumerism resulting in a dramatic rise in textile dumping and landscape pollution. This essay seeks to explore the culprits behind this phenomenon and how to tackle for a more eco-friendly approach to fashion consumption.

On the one hand, the primary contribution to the mass-produced fashion and consumerism increasing is the influence of social media. To be more specific, numerous fashion companies want to rise the profits by commercializing these fast fashion in several ways, which make it vitrually appear in every conner on social media. For example, there is a research showing that the huge amount of money spent on hiring influencers to advertise and idealize the benefits of these affordable, trend-based clothing. Moreover, it can be attributed by the desire for self-promotion from consumers. In facts, people are trying to catch up with the trend since they want to show off that they are trendy, leading to boosting the expanse on unnecessary cloths. A typical instances can be mentioned is that the majority of goods purchased by young individuals are not used at once because they only buy it from an advert on social media such as Tiktok, Instagram,.. As a results, a fast-paced, low-cost fashion production model and consumerism are widely popular and rises the number of unwanted fabrics harming the environmental sustainablity.

In term of solving this issue, there are various solutions for reducing the discarded garment, the most effective of which is gaining the public awareness, especially the young generations. It is necessary to create many campaigns about this alarming problem in school, assisting students in fostering the awareness on the environmental protection. For instance, the relative volumes of clothing-related waste must require a long period to dispose, while posing a detrimental impact on air quality. Therefore, human health ,particuarly with the respiratory system, can be largely affected, which helps reduce the cosumerism. Furthermore, government are able to impose restrictions on this rapid manufacturing of inexpensive, fashionable apparel in order to decrease the volumes of low-cost fashion dispacting to the market.

In conclusion, the fast fashion and consumerism progressed notably by the the effects of online platforms, negative commercialization, and the psychology of displaying in human-being that consequently harming the landscape. To tackle, enhancing public awareness and government play a crucial role in mitigating this issue.