Fast fashion relies on creative designs produced quickly and cheaply. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In contemporary society, with cutting-edge technology people have become enabled to produce new garments of clothes quickly, addressing all consumer needs. This, undoubtedly, decreases inventory wastage and inequality, but also leads to the disadvantages, such as poor labor conditions and increased latent waste, so this essay will elaborate on these consequences.

To start with, cheap items make the level of inequality to plummet, increasing social inclusivity, in the same time. Parity is accomplishing through affordable prices, which are the reason of people with different income buying the same clothes. For example, an employee who is going to the interview to get an occupation who is not from middle class and who wears official attire is not going to be judged on his appearance more than his skills or aptitudes – he will be on a par with other candidates with better position in life. Furthermore, when business has an on-demand model it produces only clothes which sells out in the short amount of time because of the high demand on it. Thanks to meeting its clients needs a company doesn’t have inventory wastage. For example, having such a model in 2018 ‘Shein’ did not have any clothes which are unsolled, which means all materials were used effectively.

However, many would argue that this lack of wastage after producers will return to the nature, but through consumers who sees clothes as something disposable. Quickly produced and cheap clothes lead to a throwaway culture, for people become prone to, in the beginning, have immense amount of it and, in the end, eradicate of many useless garments. In the USA during 2010s, with the rise of consumerism society, the level of latent waste on the streets skyrocketed from 17% to 31%. Moreover, for business being able weave trendy clothes quickly, it needs lots of hands. This only means a surging level of involuntary labor and establishment of sweatshops. Mentioned above ‘Shein’, has many such branches in China that is not really good for the workers there.

In the conclusion, a topic of creative cheap design is a double-edged sword. It has both advantages (decreased inventory wastage and inequality) and disadvantages (pollution and bad labor conditions).