Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern world, not devoting time to hobbies is a growing problem. Improvements in technology, job competition and different lifestyle choices are preventing people to have a hobby and to create a time for it. This has an overall negative effect on the individual and the society.

First of all, advancements in technology changed people’s lifestyle drastically. People used to prefer spending their times with friends and nature, where they eventually find a hobby that they have interest in but in today’s world socializing is mostly focused on the social media. Unfortunately, people are using most of their precious times in scrolling in social media which is ruining their potential to do something beneficial for them. Therefore, individuals are becoming more antisocial and distant.

Secondly, life used to be simple, and the common purpose was to have a healthy life where now there is a lot of competition happening in every industry. The world is more challenging than it used to be after all the disasters that affected the economy negatively such as COVID19, fires, earthquakes and wars. People are worried to preserve their standards and jobs, that they are imprisoned between their jobs and home which leaves them no time to relax and focus on their hobbies.

Lastly, having hobbies is a break from the chaos where people can only be themselves. Human beings need time off to clear their minds and do better in life. Not devoting time to hobbies are keeping people away from reuniting with their self and preventing them to process their emotions. Additionally, hobbies are a way for human connections where we get along with people. I believe that not practicing hobbies are making people antisocial, depressive, ruthless and selfish.

In conclusion, people who are not devoting time to their hobbies is harming themselves and the society in general. Everybody needs their special time to do better in life.