Fewer and fewer children are willing to look after their parents as they get older these days. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, taking care of parents in their older age less and less likely to. Today just a small amount of children look after their parents. In this essay I will discuss both pros and cons of this trend .

It is evident that this paradigm shift offers considerable benefits. One of them is having much more time to yourself. Taking care of parents also requires a long time. Because except them, individuals may have their own family,job or other responsibilities. So, it can cause problems in their careers.Moreover, some of the people may want to do hobbies on their leisure time. Additionally, they can live according to their convenience and can make their own decisions. So, as a result they can experience a sense of freedom. Another advantage is the no one will affect to their decision. They will not depend on their parent’s opinion , while other children suffer from this.

Despite the perceived benefits, a closer examination reveals several potential downsides that warrant careful consideration. Some of the elder people may suffer from dementia, declining eyesight,diabetes or cancer. Therefore, it may cause some problems if they will in care homes. Because, nurses who work there cannot treat such a sickness and do difficult surgeries . They just can treat sicknesses such as headaches, stomach ache and cold. Furthermore, if children will send them to the home for elderly, they can need some financial assistance. Because, they need to pay for caregiver, medicine and other services. As a consequence, they may have suffer from a lack of money. That is why numerous people consider that they need social welfare systems. For instance , in Switzerland elder people take the highest pension in the world and they live without having any problems with income. Also, most of the older generation are self-reliant and some of them may have their own businesses.

In conclusion, I think that drawbacks outweigh than merits. However, people who prefer looking after their parents gain the experience of being with loved ones.