Fewer and fewer children are willing to look after their parents as they get older these days. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Many children become careless about looking after their parents as they get older. The advantages of declining willingness can include focusing on only their personal lives and career growth. These benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks.

On one hand, the only advantages of not paying attention to older parents is for teenagers, to create an opportunity for their personal growth, which can lead to higher productivity. If children avoid taking care of old parents, there would be a plenty of time for youngers to focus on current problems they have. Fo instance, in developed European countries, it is usual event to send parents to professional care services as they can offer specialized medical and mental attention, which children may not be able to provide.

On the other hand, this trend has negative consequences. Elder individuals may feel loneliness and abandonment which can cause catching diseases easily and quickly. To clarify, as seniors are weak in this ages, lack of mobility can cause physical and mental trauma. Due to these reasons children may lose them. Becoming more disconnected is another drawback. This trend could divide generations, younger individuals becoming disconnected from the elderly, it leads lack of empathy and understanding across ages.

To conclude, taking care of older parents is never easy but we must not ignore to provide attention to them in older age.