Fewer and fewer children are willing to look after their parents as they get older these days. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s fast-paced world, only a few children take responsibility for caring for their older parents. While it could provide more time for focusing on future dreams, I believe that this is mainly a negative development because young people lose their older households.

The only advantage of paying less attention to old people is that teenagers might be able to find more free time to develop themselves. As seniors are not as powerful and impressive as youngsters, they cannot move and do basic daily works as their young families, and so they mostly rely on youngsters. If children neglect caring for older households, there would be plenty of time for these young people to focus on current problems and missions. In contrast, if adolescents spend much time on helping seniors, they are not likely to find sufficient time to put in much effort in succeeding in future job. In certain European countries, for instance, as some societies in this place have send older people to retirement houses so as not to spare abundant time to them, their communities have enough time to spend it on working themselves; and numerous families, therefore, may be successful.

On the other hand, this trend has more serious and unfavorable negative consequences. If young families do not pay enough attention to their older parents, they will definitely lose them. In simpler terms, as these seniors are vulnerable in these ages, they cannot work much, and for this reason, they get traumas and catch diseases easily and quickly. These injuries and illnesses can easily exacerbate old parent’s health, along with it definitely accelerates the probability of passing away. By contrast, provided that teenagers care for them and do some daily task by themselves, they can prevent these consequences. Taking Chinese society into account, as it always respects and focus on all older societies, its seniors are healthier and live more than in other nations’. This illustrates that, paying more attention to old communities, families can preserve them.

In conclusion, while adolescents may lose time which will be used to self-development, in my opinion, this trend is not for the better in that we people lose our seniors as a result.