Today, in many countries, people in big cities live either alone or in small family units, rather than large, extended family groups. Are the benefits of this change greater than the drawbacks?

With the rapid growth of urbanization, people now prefer to live alone or in a nuclear family, rather than a multi-generation family. While this tendency can be a drawback, I believe it offers some benefits.

There a host of reasons why this trend is seen as disadvantage but one of them is the family’s atmosphere. When people live alone or in a small family, they hardly feel the sense of belonging. One of the fuction of extended family is the countless supportive help it offers, which can help a member of family overcome ostacles at work or their life. However, those being alone or in a small family may receive little or no encouragement when they encounter such situation, leading to the likelihood of metal breakdown. Therefore, they can suffer from some metal health problem.

The positive side of this development is the autonomy it offers, comparing to those residing in a large family. They can choose their lifestyle independently without affecting other memebers, leading to the sense of freedom. For example, they can go from work at night and wake up late or they can invite their friends at their own comfort, which memebers in large families find it difficult to do so. Moreover, living alone or in a nuclear family accelerate their independence. Without the assistance from many members, they have no choice but facing with problems themselves. Hence, they can cultivates the bold spirit and couragement to address their issues.

In conclusion, while there are some downside opinions over this phenomenen, I contend that this trend fosters some upside developements.