Today, in many countries, people in big cities live either alone or in small family units, rather than large, extended family groups. Are the benefits of this change greater than the drawbacks?

In recent years it has been noticed that living in a big house with your extended relatives is no longer a tradition. In this essay I will be speaking on both the negative and positive aspects of this tendency.

On one hand, living alone gives you freedom of choice on what, how and when to do thing with no one around to criticize or judge. Many young people nowadays do not wish to live by their grandparents’ traditions so housing separately is a great way to set a line between modern and old-fashioned life. As for the elderly, the fast paced and hectic lifestyle in big cities may not be suitable for them as for living in a small, quiet town could be more possibly be their designated way of life. Living separately gives everyone a choice on how they prefer to live.

Oppositely, generations being separated is also a drawback. As years pass, parents and grandparents grow older and require special care which can hardly be granted by the children because of distance. Another negative aspect is missing out on stories and important life lessons that can be crucial to the younger ones as older people have a lot more life experience. Traditions will also be hard to maintain through generations. Lastly, not living with a big part of your family may result in losing contact with them and breaking family bonds.

As living alone has good and bad sides, I personally think that the negatives outweigh the positives by a drastic amount.