Today, in many countries, people in big cities live either alone or in small family units, rather than large, extended family groups. Are the benefits of this change greater than the drawbacks?

In modern society, it is commonly true that nowadays people find it more enjoyable living either on their own or in a small family instead of being a member of extended families. There are some positive effects that people can receive from this phenomenon, but at the same time, there are also some negative outcomes.

To begin with, it is evident that nowadays people are becoming more capable of dealing with their daily problems, meaning that living alone or having a small family is more convenient. Most people these days are financially independent, meaning that their necessities or priorities can be addressed more easily. Moreover, this lifestyle allows people to have better connections with their inner selves and members in their family, creating permanent bonds between family members. This tendency leads to harmony and understanding between family members and people themselves.

However, there are still some undeniable issues that people have to face. Firstly, this lifestyle involves practical experiences, as people cannot receive instructions from older generations. This is the result of living alone, as people do not have strong relationships with the elderly, who have learnt a wide range of life lessons and are able to give them valuable pieces of advice. Furthermore, this option can also be overwhelming because of the lack of financial support, especially for young people. For example, if an accident happens, family members cannot immediately appear to help them, as they live alone.

In conclusion, although there are some aspects that people can benefit from when they live alone or in a small family, there are still some inevitable risks that can occur suddenly, which detrimentally affect their lives.