Today, in many countries, people in big cities live either alone or in small family units, rather than large, extended family groups. Are the benefits of this change greater than the drawbacks?

In modern society, it is commonly true that nowadays people find it more enjoyable to live either on their own or in a small family instead of being a member of extended families. There are some positive effects that people can receive from this phenomenon, but at the same time, there are also some negative outcomes.

To begin with, it is evident that nowadays people are becoming more capable of dealing with their daily problems, meaning that living alone or in a small family gives them flexibility and convenience. Most people these days are financially independent, meaning that their necessities or priorities can be addressed more easily. Moreover, this lifestyle allows people to have better connections with their inner selves and their family members, creating permanent bonds between family members. This is the result of the abundance of time spent on themselves, creating opportunities for a better quality of life. This tendency also leads to harmonious relationships and understanding among people.

However, there are still some undeniable issues that people have to face. Firstly, this lifestyle may lead to a lack of practical experience, as people cannot receive instructions from older generations. This is the result of living alone, as people do not have strong relationships with the elderly, who can provide a wide range of valuable guidance. Furthermore, this option can also be overwhelming because of the shortage of financial support, especially for young people. For example, if an accident happens, family members cannot provide them with immediate assistance, so they must address the problems on their own.

In conclusion, although there are some aspects that people can benefit from when they live alone or in a small family, there are still some unexpected risks, which detrimentally affect their lives.