Some people believe that governments should provide free high-speed internet to all citizens as a basic necessity. Why is this being suggested? Do you think this is a practical use of public funds?

Nowadays, the internet is very important in people’s daily lives. Some people think that governments should provide free high-speed internet for everyone. This idea is becoming popular because many activities such as studying, working, and communicating depend on the internet. I believe this is a good investment, although it may be expensive.

One reason why people support free internet access is that many services are now online. Students need the internet for research and online classes. Workers also use it to find jobs and communicate with employers. In addition, many government services can be accessed online. Therefore, people without internet access may face difficulties in their daily lives.

Another reason is that free internet can reduce inequality. Poor families may not have enough money to pay for fast internet. As a result, their children may have fewer educational opportunities compared to others. Providing free internet can help everyone have equal access to information and opportunities.

I think this is a worthwhile investment because it can improve education and economic development. More people will be able to learn new skills and find better jobs. Businesses can also benefit because more customers can access online services. Although the government will need to spend a lot of money, the long-term benefits are likely to be greater than the costs.

In conclusion, free high-speed internet is suggested because it is necessary for education, work, and public services. In my opinion, it is a good investment as it can create more opportunities for citizens and support the country’s development