Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

Unlike in the past, fewer and fewer individuals tend to go for a walk regularly. In this essay, I will discuss some rationales for this trend before proposing solutions to tackle it.

On the one hand, people spend less time walking due to some reasons. The primary cause is that they cannot arrange their time effectively. In detail, many individuals are overwhelmed with a mountain of work or home assignment. Therefore, they will allocate their spare time to implementing their tasks in lieu of walking. To demonstrate, research shows that 55% of citizens in the UK are bombarded with the workload. Hence, they have to take extra hours to overcome the workload before the deadline. Furthermore, individuals tend to ignore their health. Indeed, people, especially adolescents, prefer playing video games to going outside. As a result, they spend most of their time using electronic devices and enhancing problem-solving skills about games. Consequently, people do not walk on a regular basis because of these reasons.

On the other hand, there are some useful methods for dealing with this problem. To begin with, people can design plans to balance working and doing morning exercises. In detail, after the office hours, individuals can spend half an hour going for a walk with their friends or family members. This can help them relax and de-stress or even increase their productivity. For instance, research about health shows that the energy and alertness of workers rise by 45% after walking and relaxing. Moreover, the state should organize campaigns in order to raise communities’ awareness. Specifically, the government can invite experts or doctors to warn inhabitants about the consequences of taking too much time to use smartphones. By doing that, teenagers will give up their habit and prioritize enhancing their health. Consequently, these strategies can encourage them to walk on a regular basis.

In conclusion, the preference for workload and hobbies can be seen as the causes for spending less time walking. Nevertheless, if people plan a suitable schedule or give up bad habits, they will have time to do morning exercise.