Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

Recently, the number of individuals walking has decreased day by day. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this problem before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it.

There are two primary reasons as to why fewer people have the habit of walking. Firstly, although modern techniques were invented to make people’s daily activities more convenient, there could be a reverse effect that makes them lazier. For example, in some buildings, supermarkets, or malls, elevators are usually equipped to make it easier and faster for people to move around, but this may partly make people walk less. Secondly, another reason is that there are more and more methods for those who need to commute. For instance, nowadays most people have their own vehicles, or they can use public transport instead of walking; furthermore, tech-based mobile taxi services are chosen by most people because of their advantages, which can lead people to have a sedentary lifestyle.

To combat this worrying concern, the following feasible steps should be taken. First and foremost, there should be some restrictions on using modern equipment in some places. Accordingly, since elevators can make people unwilling to walk, these should be removed or changed to one-way only to let people walk more in some places, such as low-rise buildings, subway stations, or private houses. Moreover, the authorities should create some new restrictions for types of transportation that could encourage individuals to get involved in physical activities. These could include raising taxes for people buying new vehicles, which can decrease the number of people who want to buy their own transportation, or increasing fees for public transport, and especially tech-based mobile taxi services when traveling a short distance, which is walkable.

In conclusion, although the convenience of modern equipment and transportation in daily activities is significant, involvement in physical activities, such as walking, is more significant. Therefore, there should be some changes to encourage people to be more willing to walk.