Many developing countries place a lot of importance on tourism. Why is this? Do you think that this is a positive or negative development?

In the modern landscape, developing countries have shifted their economic paradigm to focus more on the tourism industry. One reason for this might be the positive impact of tourism on the economic and social conditions in such countries. I take the stance that this change is a positive development, as it provides citizens with better opportunities to access education.

One of the main causes of expanding the tourism could be its positive economic impact on the economy as a whole, as this industry typically results in an increase in GDP. It is conventional wisdom that the economic figures of state budgets are based on GDP figures, which means that the state budget will be higher if the tourism industry generates additional funds from international tourists. Not only may these funds be used in tourism, but they may also be allocated to solve social problems. In other words, the government’s intention to address domestic social problems may be the reason behind the development of tourism.

I hold the view that the development of tourism is a positive trend which is beneficial for citizens. It is a well-known fact that international tourism has a positive effect on language skills as local citizens become familiar with communication on foreign languages. For instance, many Turkish students would not have been enrolled in international educational programs if the Turkish government had not developed international tourism. Thus, international tourism might bridge the gulf between developing countries and developed countries by enhancing local citizens’ chances to access international education.

In conclusion, the tourism industry provides developing countries with unique opportunities to manage domestic social problems with additional funds received from international tourism. I firmly believe that this is a positive trend as it may be beneficial for local citizens from educational perspective.