Fewer people today visit museums than in the past. Why is this? What can be done to encourage more people to visit museums in the future?

In the contemporary world museums are not as popular as they were in the past. It is due to the absence of interest towards museums among people. In order to achieve more visitors, museums should improve their marketing work and include digital tools.

People right now, especially current generation, prefer online entertainment over offline one. Social media is a great entertainment tool that includes variety of categories of art in a lot of digital platforms. Therefore, society is not partucularly interested in visiting museums where they can only look at paintings or other pieces of art, without as much interaction and visual tools as movies or shows on the internet offer. Furthermore, constant entertainment avalibility and wide use that people are used to enjoying, made visiting art institutions that require careful and calm observation seem boring.

In order to tackle this problem museums should create marketing content as well as digitalise their facility. Nowadays marketing plays a significant role in the society, and with the proper strategy that might include social media platforms coverage, advertising and collaboration with digital influencers, museums would become popular among general crowd. Moreover, digital tools such as vusial effects and interactive events can make art become much more interesting in today’s world. For instance, Sweden’s renovation of multiple cultural facilites with visual tools resulted in an increase of visitors. Popularity of museums then translated into social media, where Swedish people shared with the followers their visits which also accelerated the popularity rates of art places.

In conclusion, growing dependance on electronic devices and the internet are the reasons why art facilities are not as much visited as they were in the past. However, following global marketing trends and digitalisation might increase the number of visits and society’s interest in museums.