Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favoring more computer-based subjects. Why do you think it is happening? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

In recent years, students tend to study computer-based subjects rather than theoretical ones, this concerning issue is remaining uncertain if it is a positive or a negative development for the general. This essay will delve into the problem and consider it a negative trend.

The main reason for such favour is that it brings about more merits for the students. First of all, in this digital era, computer-related careers are becoming more prominent as the development of technology. This making applicants with enticing CV about well-acquired IT(Information technology) knowledge to have more opportunities for a stable job. Another advantage of studying computer subjects is they are not theoretically heavy. By nature, such subjects like IT, Maths require well logical thinking, which can be trained through many specific excercises. This means students do not have to spend time studying heavy theory and can save their time for sharpening their logical thinking.

Despite indubitable benefits of studying technological subjects, I consider these are negative development to the society. While computer-based subjects foster the technological fields of the nation, subjects with fewer students such as Literature or History can be neglected. Social subjects also play a vital role in the major progress of the country, if those fields have fewer students to study and candidate to apply, there will be a downgrade in the society development. Moreover, the more students study IT, the less students consider to study science-based subjects, this can also lead to the lack of workforce in necessary science careers. As a result, the essential science fields such as medicine or healthcare will suffer a degradation, directly affecting the health status of the whole nation.

In conclusion, computer-based subjects, though offering irresistable advantages, especially for young students, overconcentration on these subjects cannot completely solve the existed issues about society or general. The best way is to strike a balance between IT and Science to fully develop one nation at the cutting-edge.