Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favoring more computer-based subjects. Why do you think it is happening? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

These days many students opt to study computer-related courses instead of science. This could have a positive as well as a negative development. In this essay, I will share the reasons for both sides.

In the past few years, technology has been changing day by day as every other company is in a race to build their product better than others. We often hear news related to Artificial Intelligence, and how it will be used in the future. When students see such news, they get fascinated and think that it will be better to choose a career in a similar field. This drives them to learn computer-based subjects as most of the technology is related to coding. For instance, in India, a maximum number of students study in technology institutes rather than science universities. In some way, it is a positive development not only for the students but also for society because these young minds will use their knowledge to build new technology.

On the other hand, since everyone wants to learn only computers, nobody is interested in subjects like science. This will have a negative development as there will be less research on plants and animals, biodiversity, environment, chemistry, and other related topics. As a result, it will be difficult to work on sustainable development, global warming and reducing pollution which are equally important for society and future generations. For example, nowadays, pollution is a major concern, but hardly anyone is talking about it or coming up with ideas to overcome it.

In conclusion, Although students taking computer-based subjects can help in the betterment of society, if there are fewer students taking science, there will be some negative development based on above mentioned reasons.