Fewer young people read books nowadays. What are the causes of this? What are the effects?

Nowadays, the habit of reading has been decreasing among younger generations. It is worth mentioning that technology has changed this activity in every aspect so it is not what it was years ago.

To start with, the internet is where younger generations spend most of their time. It has such an extensive variety of games, films and videos that you can have access to the exact content you want instantly, seeming like a more entertaining option.

In addition, the existence of digital books has replaced physical books. Besides, the digital ones also have the option to be read to you, called audiobooks. It looks like now when younger generations decide to read, they choose the option that requires them the least effort.

Last but not least, due to the fact that access to information online is now faster and easier, books are no longer even considered an alternative. Years ago, they were the only source of information available, so libraries were commonly visited.

In conclusion, young people reading less and less is, in my opinion, a consequence of the amount of time spent on the internet, where constant stimulation makes them feel like reading does not completely entertain them.