Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As a matter of fact, this topic is a controversial issue. Whilst opponents hold the view that movies and games contained violence scenes have a detrimental effect on the society, proponents have a diverse perspective. I am a staunch believer that such entertainment means encourage youth to commit crimes.

On the one hand, psychologists claim that fighting films could be useful for stressed people who have many responsibilities. In other words, if adults get frustrated with their jobs, they can relieve this negative energy by watching a war movie. This kind of film attracts audiences’ brains, so they can forget their troubles for a while. An eminent example is a recent research paper conducted by Washington University, which revealed that action movies can be used as a therapy for stress and frustration. Thus, what can be said is that violence in films could have a benign impact on people who suffer from some mental problems.

On the other hand, sociologists emphasize that there is a connection between the increasing number of crimes and killing games. To illustrate, when juveniles spend much time on these games, they subconsciously are being motivated to imitate the same actions. This can be exemplified by a famous game called GTA which mainly direct its gamers to steal people’s properties and shoot them in order to get a higher rank. The game went viral and caused malignant effects on young people, and The United States was compelled to bane it. Hence, not only do action games negatively affect youngsters, but they also spoil the whole community.

In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that although action films and war games have few merits, they also have serious demerits. I am convinced that governments should but tough restriction on such violence content.