Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whilst some people see that action movies and video games encourage violence among audience, others appear to be against this point of view. I am of those who believe that these films and games have a detrimental effect on youth and should be ceased.

On the one hand, some individuals consider these games and movies as a way to just vent the pressure that is gained as a result of working or studying. In other words, when youngsters play or watch this genre of entertainment, they get rid of stress and in turn will become more productive. For instance, myriad research papers have concluded that there is no direct relationship between aggressiveness and watching violent films. Therefore, it is thought that this kind of entertainment is relatively safe when it comes to increasing violence.

However, large section of citizens portray this means of recreation as the major cause of crimes and bullying in schools. That is to say, these amusing activities change the psychology of fans and make them at higher tendency to be more aggressive. This can be witnessed in Egypt, where the vast majority of adolescents are trying to immitate the scenes they have watched which may end with catastrophe. So, it is advisable that these movies and computer games are to be disallowed.

In conclusion, there are contradictory opinions regarding the effect of violent films and games on people, whether they should be allowed or mitigated. I believe that their drawbacks outweigh advantages and should be prohibited.