Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate among people over violence, which is shown on films and computer games, is being dispersed around the world. While some people think that it affects society negatively and so should not be shown, others emphasize that these types of films and computer games are not harmful and can give relaxation to people. Personally, I partly agree with the former view.

On the one hand, proponents say that films and computer games which contain violence are harmful for people, especially their brains. This is because if people watch these films and play computer games excessively, these violent scenes may become ingrained in their minds. As a result, people may become violent, killing or hurting others in real life as heroes do in films. This situation leads to an increase in the number of murders in this country, and definitely it may damage the economy and peace of the country. Moreover, tourists may avoid visiting this country due to the many murders and acts of violence. As a consequence, this country may fall behind other developed countries.

On the other hand, critics state that these kinds of films and computer games are harmless and can make people relaxed. That’s why they say that these films and games should not be banned. The reason is that all people feel tired after their work and study, and they want to relax by watching these types of films and playing computer games when they get home. If people cannot unwind in this way, they may not like their jobs or studies. Furthermore, some films containing violence may teach people what to do when they face these situations in real life. For example, if someone is killing or hurting other person, people who watched it can take action in this case.

In my opinion, these kinds of films and computer games should be banned only for children. This is because children may harm other people, including even their families, unconsciously. Older people, however, can think before they act although they watch these films and play games.

In conclusion, the government should show fewer violence scenes in films and games, if the country wants to achieve peace.