Films and games have become easily accessible at any moment on mobile devices, such as smartphones, tablets, and laptop computers. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Movies and video games have become easier to find at any time on digital devices, like phones, tablets and laptops. Even though an easy access to different films and video games might be the way to escape from the real world, I believe that the disadvantages of this outweigh the benefits.

A key benefit of an accessible variety of films and games is that for some people it’s the ability to distract myself. This is because individuals often face real-life problems, for instance, pressure on their work. As a result, an opportunity to spend their free time to watch some movies or play games became very common. For example, teenagers in the United States spend about 5-6 hours playing video games, which help them to avoid concerns about their future. However, I believe that the disadvantages of this outweigh the benefits due to the widespread sedentary lifestyle among people who spend their time with those distractions.

The drawback of an accessible variety of online activities is that people spend too much time on their mobile devices. This is because technology becomes more advanced, rather than in the past. In addition, technology became not just a tool for connecting, but also a popular entertainment. As a consequence, individuals enjoy this tool on an ongoing basis by scrolling social media, watching shows and films and put off important tasks that they have to do. For example, social media app, like TikTok was banned in Australia for teenagers due to the time that they spent on a daily basis.

In conclusion, I think that disadvantages of an accessible variety of entertainment on digital devices like phones, tablets and laptops outweigh the advantages. A time that people spend on mobile devices is more important and precious than an opportunity to easily distract myself.