For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’ To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is widely believed that the ability to play musical instruments is equally significant as reading and writing skills. I personally do not share similar point of view with the statement with the reasons explained below.

First of all, the idea that possessing an ability to play musical tools, such as guitar is equally important as the ability to read and write is unacceptable because this skill do not influence the future learning process of the children. Children who do not have skill in playing musical instruments are still having an excellent opportunity to experience a better learning process when they attend schools or universities since they have mastered the most basic skills required in the learning process. Thus, to say that mastering music instruments is equally important to reading and writing skills is a false claim.

Secondly, an opportunity to learn how to play musical instruments, such as violin may not be given to everyone. To attend music schools, parents have to pay great amount of money because the tuition fees of these schools are really expensive and this makes the schools unaffordable for many families. In Indonesia, for instance, only a small minority of families are able to send their children to music schools and generally, they come from wealthy families. Therefore, saying that this skill as compulsory as writing and reading skills for children is not unacceptable.

To sum up, I firmly believe that an ability to play musical tools is not a must for children as for reading and writing skills.