For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’ To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is widely believed that the ability to play musical instruments is equally significant as reading and writing skills. I completely disagree with the statement with the reasons explained below.

First of all, the idea that possessing an ability to play musical tools, such as guitar is equally important as the ability to read and write is unacceptable because this skill does not influence the future learning process of the children. Children who do not have the ability to play musical instruments are still having a good opportunity to experience a better learning process when they attend schools or universities since they have mastered the most basic skills required in the learning process. Without the skill to play musical instruments, the children still have an opportunity to succeed in their academic journey. Thus, to say that mastering music instruments is equally important to reading and writing skills is a false claim as it does not pose any significance for students’ learning experience.

Secondly, an opportunity to learn how to play musical instruments, such as violin may not be gotten by everyone. To attend music schools, parents have to pay a great amount of money because the tuition fees of these schools are expensive and this makes the schools unaffordable for families with middle or lower incomes. In Indonesia, for instance, only a small minority of families are able to send their children to music schools and generally, they come from wealthy families. Therefore, saying that this skill is compulsory for children as writing and reading is an exaggeration.

To sum up, I firmly believe that a capability to play musical tools should not be a must for children as for reading and writing skills. This skill does not have any significance for the children’s future and to gain musical skill also requires a lot of financial support.