for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

There is a debate among people, wheather the government should be able to access the citizen’s phone calls and their messages for so called “safety resons”. Some others believe that this information is private and should not be accessed without the consent of the individual. The essay shall discuss both sides of the debate, as well as my personal opinion on the topic.

On one hand, people believing that the authorities should be able to access information like, your phone calls, messages, email and more, think that in doing so, the government will have adequate evidence in case a crime occurs, which leads to apropriate actions done by the concerned authorities for the matter. For example, if you have been harrassed or perhaps scammed online, the government having access to your messages will give them the adequate evidence and information to help you get justice.

On the other hand and in my personal opinion, having the authorities access your personal text messages, calls and emails without your consent is a violation of privacy. This makes individuals uncomfortable due to the feeling of absent privacy. For example, if you are having a personal conversation with a loved one, it is very unsetteling to know that a third party knows and is hearing what you are talking about at any given time, whenever they want.

In conclusion, authorities having access to private calls and messages does perhaps help when necessary, like in case of cyber crimes. But, personally i think, the government should not have such information about the persons private conversations without the consent of the individual.