Friendships that take place online are not as meaningful as those where people meet each other face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With current trends, every aspect of life has been shifting its base online; be it shopping, education or making friends. However, the debate of whether online friendships are as meaningful as in-person ones has been doing rounds. This essay elucidates my mixed opinions towards the topic.

I would agree with the given subject on the basis that friendship is a strong bond that develops over years of ups and downs, but having to build that online is a difficult task and the bond tends to ware off. Also, it is not only possible for any individual to create a fake personality to seem likable by others, but also they could disguise as any other person. Recent studies have found a rise in the number of cases of individuals catfishing one another. For example, we often see pranks being run amongst the friend circle wherein guys portray to be girls in order to trick other male friends and chat for days and months.

However, disagreement towards the sentence would revolve around the thesis that every person is different, and if a person decides to be a friend to someone it wouldn’t matter what the medium of contact is. For example, amongst the closest friends I have, one of them is someone I met online through social media, and the bond we share is not less than any other friendship.

In conclusion, friendships can be meaningful or meaningless depending on the choice of an individual, but we cannot overlook the fact that social media friendship may or may not hold great meaning.