Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today . Some people think that it will improve people's lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be threat to life on earth . Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, with the rapid expansion of genetics as a science, it has become a valuable topic for discussion. People who support genetic engineering, mention the elimination of hereditaty diseases and overall improvement of health in future generations, yet the ones against question the ethical acceptance of gene-modifying. In this essay, I will consider both sides and conclude with my personal opinion.

Firstly, the advantages of genetic engineering. With new technologies like CRISPR, the common percentage of infants inheriting chronic illnesses from their parents has dramatically fallen in recent years, as described in detail by the National Library of Medicine. With future research and development of gene-editing, these technologies would be accesible to everybody in the world, preventing the disease outbreaks. For instance, because of the poor quality of medicine in third-world-countries like India, Pakistana and etc., newborns suffer with chromosomal disorders (down, Turner, Klinefelter syndrome), autosomal recessive disordes and overall bad health condition. But with active implementation of “designer babies” these illnesses could be completely eradicated in next 10, or even 5 years. Though I do not live in the “third world”, this problem is also common in my country. More and more children are born with autism, down syndrome and other chronic diseases, which I find deeply concerning. I plan to have my family in the future, and I surely wish my descendants to have perfect health, which could be granted by gene-engineering development.

Even though the advantages are merely undeniable, the ethic question is still uncovered. If humans achieve the total control under future, they will unintensevily “play God”. A global uprising like this would probably become a total disaster without proper regulation. For example, instead of using CRISPR technology for the diseases eridication, the humanity would rather choose it in favour of aesthetical pleasement. There would be doll-like, snow-white, petite and beatifull babies, who are still sick and suffer from illnesses the scientists couldn’t erase from their gene. In addition, religious people may find this technology ethically unacceptable because of the “Lord’s order” it tries to disturb. Yet it is not the most reliable opinion in this discussion, it still has a support – the humanity was not ment to invents genetic engineering, as it should have followed natural selection where the strongest survives.

In conclusion, genetic engineering has the potential to eliminate many inherited diseases and improve human health, but it must be carefully regulated to prevent ethical misuse. Achieving a balance between progress and moral responsibility is essential for the future of humanity.