Getting older is one of the things that we can't escape, which is the nature for everything alive. For recent years, our years of life have extended considerably. People argue whether it is a good thing for the community and for the government. Personally, I think that there are more benefits rather than drawbacks.

Elderly people usually contribute to society by making things that we rarely notice. The first is planting flowers and taking care of the gardens and stray domestic animals. It is always believed that aged people love spending time outside and talking to strangers just to have a natural small talk. Whereas middle-aged people are minding their own businesses and cannot find time to help surroundings, retired persons find those things important and exciting due to the amount of free time they have. They always take care of the plants around their houses and even nearby, which is very vital to hydrate trees and flowers but youth do not pay as much attention as they do to such things. Feeding and petting stray, weak animals make the world much kinder and better, what exactly elderly people do. Finding houses for those animals and treating them as the part of their routine. It is very precious that such people help the environment which leaves unnoticed. Moreover, elderly people are a good example of baby-sitting. Not only can they pet animals and help plants but also take care of kids! Children love staying with their grand-father or grand-mother because they are good listeners and friends. However, they have life experience and they can teach kids a lot. Parents can always rely on grandparents with the support of baby-sitting.

While there are lots of good aspects for an ageing population, there will be always disadvantages. In the society where everyone pays taxes and hard work, retired people get pension from the taxes paid before. The immune system of elderly people is not that stable as the young people’s. The first people who catch viruses are the elderly ones. They need more treatment and attention compared to middle-aged people, which can be a problem due to lack of professionals.

To conclude, it is clear that there are more advantages overweight disadvantages for ageing population. Elderly people can also contribute to society but in different ways such as taking care of animals and kids and by growing plants. However there would always exist some drawbacks.