Giving lectures in auditoriums to large numbers of students is an old way of teaching. With the technology available today there is no justification for it, and everything should be done online. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

According to some, traditional way of teaching, where a teacher interacts to students in classrooms, has become obsolete. Also, with the technological revolution online teaching methods should be made mandatory. I completely agree with this notion as online teaching has numerous advantages.

First of all, online mode of studying offers students to study from any corner of the world. Students are not forced to visit a classroom, at a particular time, to acquire knowledge. This not only saves student’s time but also saves their money. For instance, During the pandemic, governments of numerous countries had ordered a complete lockdown, which forced schools to go online and conduct lectures using advanced technology. Secondly, online teaching offers teachers enough time to teach a greater number of students. It enables teachers to teach students of multiple institutes, since they save a lot of time. For example, my friend, who is lecturer by profession used to teach only one lecture a day in offline classes, now takes a private tuition and three lectures of three different colleges.

People who advocate conventional model of teaching believe that online teaching does not provide a suitable studying environment and distracts students. Since students are prone to distractions, they require a presence of physical teacher to assist them. The absence of this feature in virtual teaching does not help students in any manner. I believe that this could be dealt if the student and teacher both try together. If the teacher tries to solve every problem and student tries his/her best to maintain studying mindset, this problem could be ameliorated.

In conclusion, some people believe that teachings in lecture halls is old-fashioned way and with the advent to technology, online teaching must be practiced. I completely agree with this perspective, since it offers plethora of merits to both students as well as teachers.