Globalization has enabled the rapid spread of diseases across borders. Do the benefits of globalization outweigh the risks to global health and safety?

It is argued these days internationalisation has facilitated the swift transmission of diseases across national boundaries. Despite some obvious drawbacks of globalization, I believe that they are eclipsed by the advantages.

On the one hand, the main shortcoming of worldwide health and protection is the widely spread of epidemics due to global connectivity. International integration has encouraged tourism and economic exchange and this is a perfect condition for diseases to expand. For example, when Covid-19 was exposed, due to the delay of social distancing among nations, plenty of citizens died or experienced hard conditions, leaving behind various undeniable serious consequences. These impacts did not only influence life but also led to economic stagnation, medical workforce shortages, inadequate supplies of essential goods. Numerous doctors and nurses decided to retire or tried to apply themselves in other fields, for instance, because of the stressful and overloaded amount of work in Covid-19. Furthermore, since every country gets affected by the similar illness, they could not support other nations, thus this phenomenon is unlikely to be reduced. As a result, the highly increased prices driven by economic inflation in recent years have put people on the edge of financial issues. As a consequence, globalisation is one of the supportive elements for the widespread of diseases.

On the other hand, I believe that the merits are more significant than such demerits because the healthcare industry receives much technological support and international collaboration in medical research. Firstly, the cooperation and friendship among nations have allowed developing countries to utilize advanced medical equipment and access to cutting edge innovative treatments, which help to save uncountable lives. Take Covid-19 as an example, during this pandemic, technology sharing in South Africa or India supported them to produce vaccines locally such as Pfizer or Moderna. Thanks to this, numerous lives have been protected from the risks of contracted Covid-19 and furthermore, these collaborations ensured broader access to life-saving inventions in regions struggling with limited resources. Secondly, the collaboration among experts around the world fosters the efficiency of medical research processes. Collaboration allows states to share insights and expertise, reducing duplication of efforts in combating health challenges such as infectious diseases. For instance, the World Health Organization brings professors together in addressing public health crises and developing standardized medical protocols during the Ebola outbreak in West Africa and this probably helped the local citizens a lot to undergo this struggle. As a result, healthcare and well-being security are enhanced thanks to globalization.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of international integration to the healthcare industry would never overshadow its advantages.