Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

Speaking of public transportation, as far as I am concerned, spending money on railways outweighs spending money on roads. Some people might argue that the existence of roads allows people to go anywhere they want by various means such as car, motorcycle, bike, or even on foot. However, the traffic situation on the roads has more potential threats and problems than people imagine.

To start with, traffic accidents are more likely to happen on roads rather than on public transportation. During rush hour, there are people driving so fast in order to get to the workplace, school, or home on time. Thus, the chance of an accident is obviously increased. On the other hand, most public transportation is usually operated by experienced drivers and at a stable speed. Therefore, there is barely a need to worry about safety issues. Second, if you drive a car or ride a motorcycle on the road, you might sometimes get stuck in traffic jams and hence be late for an important meeting, date, or gathering. Last but not least, as long as you choose to commute on roads, you would need to find a parking lot, which is extremely difficult to do in a crowded city during the weekend or on holidays.

As for the problems I’ve mentioned above, I think government funds should be allocated to railways. It could not only reduce the possibilities of traffic tragedies but also decrease the chances of being stuck in traffic congestion. Also, the government could increase the frequency of MRT or trains during rush hour to alleviate the pressure from the crowded people. On top of that, when we have more railways, we don’t need to worry about there being nowhere to park and the fines coming after illegal parking. To sum up, the construction of railways is way more beneficial to the public and indeed improves the well-being of the whole society.