Governments should spend less money on restoring old buildings and more money for new housing and roads development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Municipalities prefer to invest in fresh houses and road refurbishment, in order to spend less money on repairing old buildings in cities. I totally agree with this statement for some reasons.

The reason why I advocate this view is that investing in new houses and roads is favourable for the government. To be more specific, despite of the population who live in old houses faces difficulties, these buildings are repaired at least a once year, and the government undertakes to spend on overhead costs. Therefore, it is cheaper and more convenient to do than trying to revamp buildings whose designs may be outdated. For example, the majority of people who live in old houses are moved and insured with new residents by the authorities every year in Baku city of Azerbaijan.

Another point to consider is that although, a lot of old buildings are repaired on time, these houses are not tolerant, and it can create risks for the population and the environment every time. In other words, when natural disaster happens, millions of individuals may lose their lives because of old and impatient houses. For instance, during the earthquake, buildings collapsed and people were buried under the rubble in Turkey. Thus, municipalities try to invest more in building fresh buildings and new pathways, it is safe for people.

In conclusion, these multifaceted reasons show that the government should spend more money on fresh houses and roads than repairing old buildings, whose it is more suitable for both residents and the government.