Harvard GSD has long recognized the importance of enrolling a diverse student body. How will the life experiences that shape who you are today enable you to contribute to the Graduate School of Design? Limit response to 300 words.

Growing up in a third-generation refugee family, I observed how wealth inequality shapes opportunities and perpetuates immobility. In Thailand, societal perceptions of appearances, ability, and wealth often intertwine to define status, implying that personal disadvantages equate inherent inability. At Gensler, I am proud to have co-led a DEI committee to address these perceptions. We proposed creating spaces that encourage dialogue and network-building across social divides. This experience inspired my agendas for events within the Harvard GSD Real Estate Club (HREC). I aim to invite speakers from nonprofit practices. For instance, representatives from Champlain Housing Trust could provide insights on housing cooperatives and community facilities. The conversations may involve finances, management, and impact of such initiatives. Exposing future real estate leaders to these mechanisms, I hope to cultivate awareness and tools for equitable developments in our community.

Simultaneously, my experiences in organizing local and virtual events have prepared me to contribute to HREC logistics. During the pandemic, I faced a career pause, as did 340,000 people. In response, I worked with local communities to develop subsisting markets. This included managing staging layouts and designing marketing materials. Later, I assisted Chulalongkorn University in hosting the 2021 virtual architectural review and exhibition. We streamlined guidelines, coordinated spaces, and troubleshooted procedures. These experiences taught me to solve logistical challenges under pressure. At HREC, I wish to actively participate in organizations of the club activities. For example, enhancing online accessibility and registration systems may broaden events reach and engagement.

As wealth and demand increasingly drive decision-making in built environments, real estate knowledge growingly extends relevance to adjacent fields. I hope to be a part of the MRE program’s growth within the school and beyond. By facilitating meaningful exchanges, I wish to contribute to a more equitable and collaborative future of built environments.