Here's a common IELTS Writing Task 2 question for practice: Topic: In many countries, more and more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Question: Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Instructions: Write at least 250 words. Support your answer with examples and reasons.

In recent days, a significant number of individuals tend to live alone. This statistic is higher than the past. People suffer from anxiety and destitution due to living alone. Moreover, they do not get companions. In spite of having a lot of drawbacks, many think that it is a positive development. However, I am of the view that it is a negative development. The forthcoming paragraphs will emphasize my opinion.

Generally speaking, there are a variety of disadvantages of living alone. The first and foremost reason is that they become socially distant. As people love to stay alone, they can not mix with others. As a result, they lose connection from the society. Another strike point is that a person who prefers living alone suffers from anxiety. Since they live alone, they become frustrated.

Another worth mentioning point is that socially distant person inhabitants do not get companions. It is undeniable that man can not live alone. Because of our needed help, it is unimaginable to live alone. We need help from others. We can not but communicate with others. For instance, when a person becomes sick, it is needed to take care of him. In addition, a human must need a mate to share his feelings and thoughts otherwise he will be frustrated. Above all, it is a must to be with others in order to be happy.

On the other hand, people who live with others can enjoy the real life. They come stress free because of having partners. Apart from this. They can share their feelings with their dearest one.

In conclusion, humans’ tendency to live alone brings a complex set of problems. It can affect a person both physically and mentally. Considering the factors discussed above, i believe humans should not live alone.