Home schooling is becoming increasing popular. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think home schooling is beneficial that attending a school?

Nowadays, home schooling is quite popular globally, especially after the Corona Pandemic. There are some reasons why people believe that home schooling is beneficial rather than attending a school. I think that traditional schooling is more advantageous than home schooling.

In this contemporary era, parents are more conscious about their children, especially those who have only one child. People believe that they can provide an education at home, where children feel comfortable and can focus on their education without hesitation. Moreover, it allows children to study according to their schedule, so it is more flexible for them. Additionally, some people emphasize their family lifestyle, values, and region as well because they want to follow only their rituals, not other religions, yet schools provide knowledge about different regions. Furthermore, technological advancement plays a main role in procuring education by using digital platforms. For example, most countries allow people to arrange education at home, such as the U.S.A., the U.K., and recently India also considers it. Parents believe that by doing this, their children can become experts in their specialized subjects, which they learn at home.

There are some disadvantages to obtaining an education in their private space. First and foremost, at home, children can become isolated, while in school they learn how to socialize with others. Secondly, by hiring a private teacher, they focus on only particular subjects, whereas school offers them extracurricular activities to broaden their knowledge in various skills. To exemplify, schools organize activities like playing sports, puzzling with cards, and other competitions where children enhance their abilities on different scales. In contrast, it is unavailable at home to learn all these things.

To conclude, concerns about family lifestyle, values, and technological advancement, flexibility are reasons, while socialization and extracurricular activities are the disadvantages of this phenomenon.