How can Ho Chi Minh City improve its traffic congestion problem?

Ho Chi Minh city is undoubtedly a overpopulated city, which leads to several serious repercussions including traffic jam. There are several feasible measures that the government could take to effectively tackle this issue.

To begin with, traffic congestion is attributed to two main factors. Firstly, people from rural areas tend to migrate to metropolises, particularly Ho Chi Minh city, in search of better job and education opportunities, resulting in a large influx of urban residents. These city dwellers need to commute to work or to school on a daily basis, especially during rush hours. The huge need of travelling has greatly contributed to traffic congestion in this megacity. Besides, the convenience and affordability of private vehicles ranging from motorbikes to cars cause almost everyone in the city to purchase. Many research have shown that 85% of working adults in Saigon have their own motorbikes thanks to their affordable price and ease of travel. As a result, roads in this city are full of scooters and cars, giving out annoying noises, and exhaust fumes.

Therefore, the government should have several practical solutions to mitigate the serious problem. The first step can adopting policies that encourage urban citizens to move to suburban areas, reducing the burden on accommodation and transport infrastructure in the city. This can be done by relocating universities and factories to outskirts or rural areas so that the large number of students and workers will no longer reside in the heart of the city, significantly easing the traffic congestion. Moreover, only by using more mass transit can the traffic volume be reduced, thus authorities should put more resources into improving public transportation facilities. For example, if buses were more regular and equipped with better seats, WIFI or air conditioners, users would feel comfortable and choose to travel by them more frequently.

In conclusion, the overpopulation and availability of private vehicles have resulted in traffic congestion in Saigon; However, the government can solve this issue by relocation policies and transport system improvement.