Convenience foods will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and methods of preparation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern lifestyle, ready-to-eat products are becoming more popular and widespread. While some people claim that this process will eventually end up by replacing homestyle cooking and its preparation techniques, I believe that both types of food preparation can coexist.

With increased work demands, many people prioritize precooked foods over time-consuming traditional meal preparation.This is mainly because individuals find it easy to cook these types of meals which saves them a significant amount of time. Healthcare professionals, such as nurses, prefer eating ready foods, as they work 17 hours straight and not having enough time to cook. Another reason why this type of food has become favoured is its easy availability. Since more and more convenience stores are opening in easily accessible places.

Traditional cooking, however, is deeply rooted in cultural identity and traditions. Foods are more than fuel; they are heritage, which cannot be replaced by factory-made alternatives. Beshbarmak, for example, represents Kazakh heritage by bringing people together, reflecting nomadic roots through its preparation and consumption and cannot be replicated by pre-packaged food. Moreover, cooking is not only a cultural practice but also an important economic activity. Many people rely on traditional food preparation as a source of income. If convenience foods fully replaced traditional methods, it could negatively impact these businesses. In addition, home-style cooking allows individuals to control ingredients and nutritional value, which is often limited in ready-made meals.

To conclude, although convenience foods are becoming increasingly popular due to contemporary lifestyle and their accessibility, they are unlikely to completely replace traditional cooking because of their cultural, economic and nutritional importance.